top of page

Fire Chief Todd Maxton


Fire Chief Todd Maxton leads NWCFD. Chief Maxton began his volunteer service to the District as a firefighter when he was 18.


Maxton has a background in emergency communications, law enforcement, emergency management, and private sector budget development.


Maxton began career service as a Fire Captain/EMT with JCFD3 in 2008.

Chief Maxton was one of the three inaugural Battalion Chiefs promoted. In 2018, Maxton was promoted to Fire Chief.

Maxton has an undergraduate degree in Public Safety Management and is currently pursuing his Master's degree in Public Service and Safety Leadership. 

Chief Maxton is an active member of the Johnson County Fire and Emergency Services Chiefs Association and has previously served as President, Vice-President, and Secretary/Treasurer.

Maxton also volunteers as a Johnson County Public Health Leadership Council member.

Chief Maxton can be contacted at 913-585-0076 or

Deputy Chief Mike Baxter

With over 28 years of fire and EMS experience, Deputy Chief Baxter brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the Northwest Consolidated Fire District. Following his service in the United States Marine Corps, Baxter joined the De Soto Fire Department in 1995. He holds KSBEMS paramedic and instructor-coordinator certifications and has extensive paramedic ambulance service experience in Jefferson County, Kansas. Additionally, Baxter boasts an emergency management background and is a certified wildland task force leader.

Prior to coming to NWCFD, Baxter was actively involved in various boards and committees in the County, including LEPC, 911 Advisory, mobile integrated healthcare, and EVLI/Battery/Energy. 

In his capacity as Deputy Chief, Baxter serves as the liaison between the fire district and other agencies, public officials, the NWCFD Board, and all district stakeholders. In the absence of the Fire Chief, he assumes leadership, ensuring continuity of operations and effective decision-making.

Deputy Chief Baxter's demonstrated track record of successful training program implementation, collaborative approach to teamwork, and commitment to community safety make him an invaluable asset to NWCFD.

Deputy Chief Baxter can be contacted at 913-583-3886 or

Former Fire Chiefs:

Dale Walker, DFD -2000 & JCFD3

Terry Zahner, JCFD3 1984-2010

Kevin Ritter, DFD 2000-2010

Terry Zahner, NWCFD 2010-2014

Mike Whim, NWCFD 2014-2018

bottom of page